Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve created a monster.  Not one composed of different parts of dead human beings but one made of a living, breathing animal. 

Hmm…perhaps I should start from the beginning.  The vet recently told me that one of my dogs, Des, is a few pounds overweight.  I don’t see it, but I figure a vet should know so I decided to start taking him on daily walks around our subdivision–my husband says I’m crazy since we have a large fenced-in backyard where the dogs can run and get plenty of exercise.  My other dog, Fletch, takes full advantage of it but Des…well, Des is a mama’s boy and he wants to be with me at all times.  That doesn’t allow for much exercise since I spend the majority of my time sitting in my office writing–with Des usually sprawled at my feet, snoring.

Daily walks seemed just the thing so I’ve abandoned the 30 minutes a day on the elliptical machine for 30 minutes of walking.  The thing is, Des loves the walks and until he gets what he wants, he won’t leave me alone so I can do other things, like finish a manuscript or edit a WIP.  He sits here by my chair and just stares at me until I get up, get his harness and leash, and take him for a walk.  After that, he’s fine and sometimes even detaches himself from my side and takes a nap in the living room or dining room instead of in my office.

But…is he losing weight?  I can’t tell and at over a hundred pounds, he’s too big for me to pick up and step on the scale with him to check.  He does look like he’s toned up a bit but then I never thought he was overweight in the first place so what do I know.  I guess we’ll find out in a couple of months when we go back to the vet for his checkup.

