The word is the famous groundhog of Gobbler’s Knob saw his shadow this morning which means, unfortunately, another six weeks of winter.

Bah!

I’m thinking ol’ Punx Phil got it wrong–at least as far as western North Carolina goes.  We had sunshine yesterday, after a weekend of snow and ice, but this morning it’s cloudy and rainy and there’s no way anyone saw a shadow of anything.  Well, except me because I’m seeing a huge shadow of doubt here…

I think I’ll go with the Germans on this one.  German tradition holds that if a hibernating animal sees his shadow on February 2nd then there’s going to be six more weeks of winter.  Notice it doesn’t say anything about Punxsutawney Phil, he’s only one of the many hibernating animals in the world, it just says a hibernating animal.  I guarantee the hibernating animals in my neck of the woods didn’t see their shadow today.

Hopefully, that means we won’t have six more weeks of winter.  As for Punxsutawney Phil and his fellow Pennsylvanians, they’re on their own!

Happy Groundhog Day!

