Found a list on Moviefone of the Worst Holiday Movies and boy, did they hit the nail on the head–or in keeping with the season, light up my Christmas tree.  The list includes several movies I consider really bad, and two that are on my list of the worst movies ever made, holiday or not. 

Number 14 on the list is the remake of Miracle on 34th Street, which is one of the worst Christmas movies I’ve ever seen and an absolute failure as far as remakes go–yeah, I know, that’s not saying much since most remakes are horrible–but this one is particularly bad.  I hated the whole thing and I almost threw a shoe at the TV when I saw how they changed the ending.

But that wasn’t the best part of the list.  The best, in my opinion, is the movie they named as the number one bad Holiday Movie; How the Grinch Stole Christmas.  Whoever made the list should be showered with Christmas kisses and wrapped in a warm holiday hug!  Seriously, that movie just flat-out stinks.  What was Ron Howard thinking? 

It’s no secret I hate remakes and the fact that there are so many out there makes me wonder if there’s something rotten in the water in Hollywood.  Bad enough when they screw around with some of the classic films that I love so much, but come on, don’t mess with my Christmas movies!  Talk about something that makes me see red–and not in a cheerful Christmassy sort of way!

If you want to see a good Christmas movie, check out Christmas in Connecticut–not the remake directed by Arnold Schwarzenegger, the original starring Barbara Stanwyck–or The Bishop’s Wife–again, not the remake, the original with Cary Grant–or The Man Who Came to Dinner–playing tonight on Turner Classic Movies at 8–or of course, there’s always It’s a Wonderful Life and several versions of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, most of which are pretty good. 

Anything but the remake of Miracle or Ron Howard’s take on The Grinch.  Just watching either of those is enough to land you on Santa’s Naughty List–and you know what that means!

