It’s raining here in the mountains of North Carolina and for the sake of all the pint-size Trick or Treaters out there, I’m hoping it clears up before tonight.  I can remember trick or or treating in the rain when I was a kid.  It wasn’t fun.  Still, free candy so I guess it’s worth it.  Me, my favorite house to visit when we were kids was the one at the end of our street.  The old couple who lived there worked at a printing press that printed comic books and they would give away three or four comic books with the covers torn off and rolled up into a neat cylinder.  You never knew what you would get but hey, free read + caramel apples from the people next door = heaven as far as I was concerned.

Tomorrow, after all the Trick or Treaters have eaten their way into a sugar coma, is the first of November and if you’re an author, you know what that means; National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is upon us.  I don’t particiapte in NaNo, there’s just something about committing myself to write a novel in a month that goes against my grain.  First, I’m no good with deadlines, especially the self-imposed ones, and second, well, I have way too many WIPs as it is.  I don’t need another one, I need to clean up and/or finish the ones I have and start submitting them.  So, no NaNo for me but I do want to wish all those participating good luck–you’re a stronger man woman author than I am!

And that brings me to my next subject, National Authors’ Day–or is it Author’s Day?  Authors Day?  I’ve seen it all three ways but I prefer the first one–is also tomorrow.  Hmm…I guess I really should celebrate this since I am an author, but I’ll probably let it go by without even thinking about it.  Or maybe I should eat all the leftover Halloween candy–Butterfingers, yum!–resulting in a sugar high and write a novel in one day.  Who needs a whole month?  Well, okay, that’s probably won’t work because whatever I turn out will most likely be garbage but who knows?

The day after that, November 2nd, is Plan Your Epitaph Day.  Okay, I admit, I probably won’t be participating in that one either.  Too depressing!

Next up on November 3rd is my favorite, Cliche Day!  Yay!  I love cliches–I know, I know, cliches are bad when you’re a writer, but I still love them.  I have a Friday Favorite post scheduled this week on the Dames of Dialogue blog so I guess I should save anything else I have to say about cliches for that post.

Then on November 4th, we have Mischief Night.  Huh?  Shouldn’t that one be celebrated on October 31st?  November 5th is National Men Make Dinner Day.  I can get behind that one…except whatever my husband cooked, I probably wouldn’t be able to eat.  I’d much prefer National Men Pay for Dinner Out Day.  After that comes, take a deep breath, this is a long one, UN International Day for Preventing the Exploitation of the Environment in War and Armed Conflict.  Seriously, shouldn’t someone come up withh a shorter name for that one?  I mean, I’m all for any day when people put the environment first but that name needs trimming.  I’d say go with an acronym, but that wouldn’t work either; UNIDPEEWAC.  Then again, maybe it would.

And that takes us through the week ahead.  Happy Halloween to all the Trick or Treaters out there, happy National Authors’ Day to all the authors and if you’re participating in NaNoWriMo, good luck!  And remember if you’re at a loss for words, using cliches is a no-no, you should avoid them like the plague!  To finish off the week, make some mischief on Wednesday, let a man cook you dinner on Thursday and plant a tree on Friday–hey, it may not meet the purpose of UNIDPEEWAC, but at least you’re trying.

**a special thanks Holidays on the Net for all the fun info on holidays!

