I admit, I don’t “get” why so many people are fascinated with vampires these days.  I mean, sure, I used to watch Dark Shadows and I loved every single minute of it.  I’d rush home from school, plant myself in front of the TV and for 30 minutes I wouldn’t move.  I guess you could say I was a fangirl of vampires back then but now, well, not so much.

Hey, wait a minute, maybe it’s that old soap opera that did it.  Maybe I got my fill of vampires back when I watched Dark Shadows religiously.  I guess you could even go so far as to say Barnabas Collins is my vampire soul mate–aren’t soul mates very important in today’s vampire stories?–since no other vampire has ever tempted me to spend hours of my life in their world.  Maybe no one else can ever do the same thing for me that Barnabas did back in the late 60s and early 70s.

Or maybe I’m just too old.  Could be, but I write paranormal romance and love writing in that genre so maybe I’m not that old.  Still, I rarely read any books that have vampires.  I’ve only read one Sookie Stackhouse book, the first one and it was pretty good, but I don’t watch True Blood and have no desire to read the rest of the books.  I’ve never read a single one of the Twilight books–is it true the vampires sparkle?  I’m sorry but that’s just wrong to me–and I’m definitely not tempted to see the movies.  I did read Salem’s Lot when it came out and I enjoyed it though it’s not my favorite Stephen King book.  I’ve also read Interview with the Vampire by Ann Rice, but was never tempted to pick up another one in that series either.  One series I vaguely remember enjoying was by an author whose name I can’t recall, nor can I remember the titles of the book or series.  Only thing I do remember is in the first one, the hero is a vampire and he wants to be turned back into a mortal and the heroine is a waitress at a diner.  I read another two–or was it three?–books in that series but I didn’t read all of them.

These days though, when all the world seems to be caught up in some sort of “Vampire Fever,” I just don’t get it and I definitely don’t want to write about them.

It could be because there seems to be a glut on the market when it comes to vampire books these days and again, no one will ever top Dark Shadows.  I read something somewhere the other day that they are making a Dark Shadows movie and Johnny Depp is rumored to be starring as Barnabas Collins.  Meh, I like Johnny Depp but I probably won’t go see the movie because that’s another thing I’m sick of.  Why do the people in Hollywood feel compelled to remake perfectly good movies–they can never improve on the original in my opinion–and movies based on TV shows–too much of a good thing and in most cases the movie is nowhere as good as the original show.  

Heck, maybe I am old…and cranky…and I know for a fact I’m most definitely tired…of vampires!  Which brings me to the real reason for this post, I’ve finished with the second book in my Apprentice Angel series and I’m thinking for the third one, the main character, Mac the Angel, is going to be sent to help a goth teenager who’s fascinated with vampires and all the lore that goes with them.  Not that there will be any actual vampires in the book, but the underlying theme will be a sort of vampire mania so…I guess I’ll have to get over my aversion and embrace the world of vampires again.

