Today seems to be a day for words.  Of course, being an author, that’s pretty much an everyday thing for me but today especially, I have words on my mind.

I read an article this morning by Michael Hill about a poll conducted by Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York that determined the most annoying word used in conversations these days is “whatever.”  Really?  I love that word.  It can be used in so many ways to express a myriad of feelings; disgust, anger, discontent, and yes, annoyance.

“Whatever” doesn’t bother me at all, but I do have a few pet peeves when it comes to popular words/phrases.  Most annoying, in my opinion, is “my bad.”  I really hate that one and am sick of hearing it.  It’s nothing more than a way of getting out of apologizing for something…in other words, it’s a cop-out–remember that one?

Second to “my bad” is one that was also ranked as number two on the Marist College poll; “you know.”  I thought that was just me because I watch a lot of sports and athletes tend to use that one a lot.  And I do mean a lot.  With some of them, it seems they can’t get through one sentence without saying “you know” at least twice.  Anyway–another word that made the list–apparently I’m not alone on “you know” but I don’t think it’s anywhere near as annoying as “my bad,” which didn’t even make the list.

What about you?  Do you have any words or phrases that make you want to scream in annoyance/anger/disgust/exasperation…um, whatever?

What’s in a word? (Part 2) is on the Dames of Dialogue blog.

