Red Sox Rumbles–Come on guys, one more game, that’s all you need, just one more game.  How hard can that be?  I bet you can do it tonight so what’d’ya say?  Hmmm?  Show Toronto who’s boss and then you can slide into the off-season.  I’m pulling for you!

Phillips Phfffts–I suppose everyone heard at some point during the last week that Mackenzie Phillips is proclaiming to the world at large that she had an incestuous ten year relationship with her father, John Phillips, of The Mamas & the Papas.  Is it just me or does anyone else find this revelation highly suspicious in light of the fact that Ms. Phillips has another book coming out soon?

Phillips Phfffts, Part 2–Tony Curtis, who also has a new book coming out, is now claiming that Marilyn Monroe was pregnant with his child while they were both married to other people.   Supposedly, Ms. Monroe miscarried the baby and that was the end of that.  Any bets on this being true or just another case of a celebrity drumming up interest in a book?  I guess you know what I think.

Random Rant–how in the world do these people get book contracts (hint–by promising to include at least one juicy revelation that will sell their book) and who in the world reads the books?  Seriously, their secrets are pasted all over the Internet well before the book comes out so why would anybody spend money on something they can get for free?  I’ve heard it said that publishers never make back the advances they pay out to these so-called celebrities (read, has-beens) but still they keep giving them book deals.  Surely they’re not losing money on every single one of the books, are they?  If they are, somebody needs to go back to college and take a business course.

Cardinal Congrats–my third favorite team, the St. Louis Cardinals, are going to the post season.  Now if the Rockies make it or the Braves (one of them has to, I think) then four of my favorite teams will be playing in October.  Congrats also to the Yankees and the Dodgers…and did I read somewhere the Angels made it?  If they did, congrats to them too.  It’s shaping up to be an interesting play-off season!  And it’ll be all that much better if my Red Sox quit tormenting me and win tonight!  And Baltimore, better luck next year!

Okay, that’s it.  Just wanted a break from writing and those were the things that caught my attention during the couple of days.  I know there were more, but my mind, well, she’s a little mushy right now.  Back to writing…

