Writer’s block is a curious thing.  It strikes willy-nilly and once it has you in its clutches, you never know how long it’s going to last.  A day, a week, months or even years–God forbid.

You do everything you can to break out of it.  Turn your attention to another WIP, start working on a new story or poem, blog, clean house, cook, work out, work puzzles, play around on the Internet, read, sit in front of your computer and type mindlessly hoping something will come out of your questing fingers that makes sense.  I could go on, but you get the point.  Nothing works!  All I can do is wait it out.

Hate that, but that’s the way it is for me.   And so, I was happily surprised this morning when I turned on my computer, opened the file on my latest WIP, as I do every day hoping inspiration will hit, and…actually found myself wanting to write.   My muse, it seems, after taking an extended vacation, has finally decided to come home and go back to work.

So on this beautiful first day of fall which also happens to be the first day we’ve seen sunshine here in the mountains of western North Carolina in over a week, not to mention the Flash Flood warnings we’ve been under for days have been lifted, I actually wrote a few words.  Nowhere near the 1,000+ per day that I’d been doing before this blasted block grabbed ahold of me, but it’s a start.

Yay and happy fall, y’all!

