I rarely talk about having MS and most of the time, I hardly think about it, but when it flares up, it’s pretty much the only thing I can think about.  Right now, as I’m going through an exacerbation–fancy medical term for feeling like crap because of MS–I want only to be able to write and think coherently.  But that’s probably not going to happen, so I apologize in advance if this post doesn’t make any sense.

Still, even with the muddled state of my mind, I have something to say to my guys (aka the Boston Red Sox): snap out of it!  Your lead in the AL East is a thing of the past and it’s pretty much a given that the Yankees are going to win the AL East–and why shouldn’t they, after all, they certainly paid enough for it.  I know, I know, “money can’t buy happiness,” but I’m here to tell you, this year, if you’re a Yankee fan, it most certainly can and has.  But that doesn’t mean we should give up hope.  There’s still the wildcard, but if you keep playing the way you did the last two games, that’s going to be gone too.  So come on guys, snap out of it before it’s too late!

The other thing on my dim, woolly mind these days is where did the summer go?  Seems like just yesterday I was planting my garden and dreaming of all the summer goodness to come.  That’s over now, for the most part, but it’s not as over as it would be if I still lived in Maine.  Right now, up in Maine, the leaves are already turning and vegetable gardens are lying fallow–or most of them are–and apple season has arrived.  Fall’s always been my favorite time of the year and I particularly loved it when I lived in Maine.  More than the beauty of the leaves, the air is literally saturated with the smell of apples.  Did you know Maine is the number two state in the nation for apples, second only to Washington state?  Well, it is and let me tell you, if you’re there in the fall, you get to see the beauty of the leaves and you also get the wonderful smell of apples.  I used to love sitting on my porch and just breathing in that fragrance, so sweet it would make my mouth water.

Where I live in North Carolina, they also have a lot of apple orchards.  I’m right down the road from “Apple Valley” so I’m surrounded by them, but for some reason, you don’t get the same smell as you do up in Maine…except if you go to downtown Hendersonville during the apple festival which just happens to take place on Labor Day weekend every year.

This is Labor Day weekend.  Too bad I’ll have to miss the annual festival..but then, it looks like I’ll also be missing the World Series, another thing that makes fall my favorite time of year.  Well, unless my guys get their act together and get red-hot before too many more games are past.  Who knows, maybe they’ll surprise us all like they did in 2004.

Hey, it could happen.  You know what they say,  there’s always hope!

