My sister, niece, mom, and I went on a mini-vacation last week to Cherokee and Hot Springs.  The whole trip was wonderful but I enjoyed the day we spent in Hot Springs most of all.  It was fascinating to walk in the footsteps of our ancestors, so to speak.  And every single person, from the librarians in both Hot Springs and Marshall who shared their wisdom and allowed us to look at records from the late 1800’s where we found quite a bit of information on the Daniels and Henderson families, to the owner of the hardware store in Hot Springs who steered us in the right direction for the cemetary where our great-grandmother was buried–we didn’t find it, but that was no fault of his–to the administrative assistant of the court house in Marshall where my great-grandfather conducted quite a bit of business while he was constable of Hot Springs, was incredibly helpful and friendly.  Whew!  How’s that for a run-on sentence?

Anyway, we have a ton of connections in Madison County, NC, and I’m so glad we found them all.  Our acknowledgement page for this one is going to be long.  I just hope we don’t leave anybody out!

Over the weekend while I was still working to clear out my email inboxes–I tell you, I used to hate getting junk-mail and I hate even more getting junk-email!–I got a bit of happy news; a contract from L&L Dreamspell for Winds of Fate!  Snoopy dances all around! 

Next up for me is the release later this month of the LLD anthology, Romance of My Dreams, with my short story, Third Time’s for Keeps.  After that, late this year or early next year, will come Storm Shadows, the second book in my Eternal Shadows series.  Winds of Fate will be my seventh book–or eighth, if you count Unwilling Angel twice since it was released by two different publishers.  Nah, I think I’ll go with seven.  After all, seven was considered a sacred number by my Cherokee ancestos.  So, seven books!  Can you believe that?  Not too shabby for someone who started writing as a way to deal with depression after learning she had MS.

So now I’m thinking about changing my blog name again.  The last time I did that, I seriously considered using the name Cait-of-Nine-Tales but I only had four–or maybe it was five–books out at the time.  I still like that name, and next year, when my seventh book comes out, I think I just might do it–hopefully, it’ll inspire me to get the next two finished and submitted, which will truly make me a Cait of nine tales!  Providing a publisher accepts them, of course!

