missouri-busch-stadiumBeen a while since I wrote anything about baseball.  I guess you might say I’m in a mid-season slump right now, but I have been paying attention to what’s been going on with the Red Sox–and other assorted teams in the major league.

That’s Busch Stadium where this year’s All-Star game will be played.  Pretty, isn’t it?  The picture comes to you courtesy of 1april07bride on PhotoBucket.

Okay, first up in this game of catch-up, congrats to the six Red Sox players who were chosen to go to St. Louis for the All-Star game this year; Josh Beckett, Dustin Pedroia, Jason Bay, Kevin Youkilis, Jonathan Papelbon and Tim Wakefield–at last!.  Way to go, Wake, you deserve it after all this time!  And kudos to you and Beckett on your league-leading eleven wins this season. 

Unfortunately, there will only be five Boston players at the game as last year’s Rookie of the Year, Dustin Pedroia, has opted not to go.  His wife, Kelli, is pregnant with their first child and has been experiencing some problems with the pregnancy so Dustin elected to stay in Boston with her.  Major kudos for that, and I have no doubt there’ll be other years for Pedroia to partcipate in the All-Star game–he’s just too good and so devoted to playing the game that this won’t be the only chance he gets.

As for Youk, Bay, and Papelbon, I hope you each get the chance to show off your talents.  Give ’em hell, guys!

Second, how can it already be the All-Star break.  Sheesh, where did the season go?  Oh well, it’s been a great one so far and I have a feeling it’ll get even better after the break.  Thankfully, after the Angel’s swept the Yankees, Boston goes into the break with a 3 game lead in the AL!  Woo-hoo!

Third–and I never thought I’d say this–can we please stop with the coverage of Manny Ramirez.  I’m sick and tired of seeing him everywhere I turn and more importantly, I don’t think anyone, anywhere should be cheering for him, much less voting for him to be on the All-Star team.  And Manny, you might want to curb your tendency to look at the world as your personal castle.  Seriously, you’re beginning to sound an awful lot like a Barry Bonds or Roger Clemens wannabe.  Just keep your mouth shut about how awesome you are and how great it is that people are welcoming you back with open arms and play ball.  Seems to me I recall you once saying that’s all you wanted to do was play baseball and have fun doing it.  That was you, wasn’t it?  So go on, shut your mouth and lose the over-inflated ego or the only thing you’re going to be remembered for is narcissism.

Okay, that’s it in my baseball world.  Tonight’s the All-Star game and then the second half of the season.  I’m sure there’ll be plenty of nail-biting and gnashing of teeth and I, for one, will enjoy every minute of it.

boston-red-sox-logo

 

 

 

Go Red Sox!

