Most of the time, david-ortiz-150aj062409David Ortiz, aka Big Papi, has a smile that makes me think of a mischievous kid who, though he may have been caught with his hand in the cookie jar, knows you love him and can’t help but smile at his antics…and offer him another cookie!

But that smile has been sadly missing this season and I, along with many other members of Red Sox Nation, have missed it.  I’m pretty sure I speak for all of us when I say to Big Papi and his smile, “Welcome back!  It just wasn’t the same around here without you!”

Oh, and congratulations on your 1,000th, 1,001st, and 1,002nd RBIs!  Simply awesome!

For more about Ortiz, check out Andrew Johnson’s post on Fanhouse, David Ortiz and the Long Road Back, and Ian Brown’s article on MLB, Papi surpasses 1,000 RBIs on homer

Here’s hoping that 300th HR is right around the corner, only four more to go!

