Sluggers-069-Sammy-SosaSammy Sosa tested positive for steroids–yep, Sam(my) is playing the same old tune.  It’s become a recurrent theme in baseball these days; another star player who let thousands of fans down and/or vindicated thousands of critics by getting caught cheating.

So, steroids again.  Do I care?  No, I can’t say that I do, but then I’m a grown woman and though I admit to being a bit of a fangirl where some of the players are concerned–can we all say Manny?  Phffft!–I’m old enough to know baseball players aren’t perfect and I don’t idolize them or dream of being like them.  Unfortunately, that’s not true for a lot of baseball fans, namely those under the age of eighteen and those who have kids under the age of eighteen who love baseball.  Nor is it true for minor league players whose idea of the great life is playing in the major leagues one day.

Don’t get me wrong, I love baseball and though I know steroids are a problem we’ll be hearing more about and one we need to find a solution for, I think major league baseball has a bigger problem than steroids.  Wait, no, I meant MLB commissioner, Bud Selig, has a bigger problem than steroids.  It’s obvious to me, given the leaks from a list that was supposed to be confidential, that one of Bud’s minions has turned against him.  Someone out there is doing their best to make Mr. Selig look like a bumbling idiot with his head firmly planted in the sand.  Not to mention the worst MLB commissioner ever…

and they’re doing a pretty good job of it.

**image courtesy of g6733 on PhotoBucket

