I probably shouldn’t be writing about this, but I just can’t seem to help myself so here goes…all the sports news sites are talking about how the Red Sox own the Yankees this year.  My guys have won the first seven games against their arch rivals and when you throw in the last game they played against New York last season, they’ve won eight games in a row.

*fingers crossed, knocking on wood, etc.*  Boston hasn’t had a winning streak like this against the Yankees since 1912.  Yes, that’s right, 1912, before Babe Ruth entered the picture and long before the possibility of a curse reared its ugly head in the mind of Red Sox fans everywhere.

Eight straight games.  Will it last?  Probably not, but I’d be tickled pink red if it did.  I’m loving every minute of this, but my husband, the Yankees fan, well, not so much.

He keeps saying the Yankees will come back and I have to agree with him on that one, they always do.  But, and this is a big but, their starting pitching stinks this year, even with the two aces they paid a gazillion or so dollars to get in the off-season, and their bullpen sucks.  On the flip side, Boston’s starting pitchers, after a rocky start for some of them, are getting better, and our bullpen is one of the best in the league.  And of course, we’ve got Tim Wakefield.  Wake has become our go-to man, the pitcher you can always count on to go deep into a game and give the bullpen a rest if they need it.  The ace, who in his quiet, steady way gets the job done without a lot of posing and posturing, just straight-forward pitching.  Seriously, he disproves the Yogi-ism that “all pitchers are liars or crybabies.”

So, have I just jinxed my guys, especially Wake, or will this streak continue?  Back in March when my husband was gloating about how good the Yankees were going to be this year, all I would say to him is that this would be an interesting season.  So far, it has been–well, okay, more for me than him–but there are a lot of games left and if there’s one thing you can count on in baseball, it’s that the Yankees are never down for the count, or if they are, they’ll come roaring back and just like Yogi said, “it ain’t over ’til it’s over.”

A special note to David Ortiz:  next time a reporter says something to you about being in a slump not hitting, give them Yogi’s answer, “Slump?  I ain’t in no slump, I just ain’t hitting.”  And remember, “swing at the strikes” and don’t overthink your game because as Yogi said, “How can you think and hit at the same time?”

Go Red Sox!

