A few things on my mind this morning:

1.  Red Sox! Sweep! Yankees!  ‘Nuff said!

2.  Jacoby Ellsbury is my new dream man.  Okay, well, not so new since I did a post about a year ago about him and how I thought he would make the perfect model for my hero in Snow Shadows, but did you see him steal home last night against the Yankees?  Wow!  How fast is that guy anyway?  Faster than a speeding bullet–well, maybe not, but he’s fast!

3.  Authors on MySpace that friend you and then you only hear from them when they’ve got a new book.  I know that’s just promotion but for some reason, it really bugs me!

4.  Spring and planting my garden which still isn’t done because we’ve been going through something of a mini-monsoon season here.  Thankfully, it seems to be over at last!

 

5.  Mockingbirds.  I have a mockingbird that comes to my suet feeder two or three times every day.  After s/he eats his/her fill, s/he perches on a branch in my hackberry tree and sings his/her little heart out.  Amazing the number of bird songs the s/he knows!

6.  Dogs are wonderful creatures!  No matter what kind of mood I’m in, mine never fail to get at least a smile out of me, and most of the time, a full-out belly laugh.  Gotta love them and be thankful for them!

7.  Oh yeah, did you hear?  The Red Sox swept the Yankees!  Yippee!

8.  Spring cleaning.  Yep, it’s that time of year and no matter how much I don’t want to, I have to do it because that’s how I was raised.  Bleh!

9.  31 Days to Build a Better Blog–I’ve fallen way behind on this one and don’t know if I’ll ever catch up.  We’re on day twenty-something and I just now got my elevator pitch for the first day’s assignment.  Double bleh! 

10. On a happier note, the Red Sox swept the Yankees this weekend.  Hip, hip, hooray!

11. Cherokee legends about wolves because I just started on the third book in my Eternal Shadows series.  Only about a thousand words in since I’m also working on finishing Winds of Fate, the book based on the legend of Blowing Rock.  I’m expanding it to a full-length book instead of a novella.  Wish me luck!

12. The Blue Ridge Book and Author Showcase next week in Flat Rock.  Not exhibiting in this one because by the time I heard about it all the tables were taken, but I’m looking forward to spending time with my sister and mom who are coming over for it, attending some of the sessions and meeting some of the local authors.

13. No number thirteen because that’s unlucky–yep, baseball season is in full-swing and my superstitious nature is too!

14. Writing groups.  I’m a member of High Country Writers in Boone and was a member of RWA.  I let my RWA membership go this year because there’s not a local chapter here in the mountains of NC and I wasn’t getting much from the national membership.  I’m thinking the money might be better spent if I join the North Carolina Writer’s Network.  They have a local chapter which I will automatically be a member of if I join so…

15. A tip for all you authors out there, check OpenZine.  I haven’t joined yet, but an author/publisher has and she’s gotten quite a bit of attention so I think it has real possibilities for authors to market.

Okay, that’s it, except, did I mention the Red Sox swept the Yankees this weekend?  I did?  Well, it bears repeating!

