Happy Patriots’ Day!  To those of you in the South who may not be familiar with this holiday, it’s a New England thing and commemorates the battles at Concord and Lexington which started the Revolutionary War.  You know, when Paul Revere made his famous ride or as Longfellow put it, “Listen my children and you shall hear of the midnight ride of Paul Revere…”  Yeah, that one.  It’s also the day when they run the Boston Marathon and of course, the Red Sox play an afternoon game at Fenway.  Reason enough to celebrate in my book!  Especially since, to quote their home page, “Patriot games: Sox sweep away O’s in rout.”  Woo-hoo!  A happy day, Patriots’ or otherwise, for every Red Sox fan!

Another reason to celebrate, at least for me, I just typed “The End” on Storm Shadows!  Double woo-hoo and a couple of Snoopy dances to boot.  Whew!  Usually I’m reluctant to end a story because I know there’ll be a downtime when I wonder what to work on next and a period of adjustment when I miss the characters, but in this case, I’m more than ready to let Betty Sue and Marc go–well, okay, more Betty Sue than Marc because she gave me fits every step of the way. 

And this time I don’t have to wonder what next, because I’ve already started on the next book in the series which is about the third brother, Luke.  I have the heroine pictured in my mind and pretty much have her personality figured out but I don’t have her name.  Can’t decide for the life of me what to call her.  I need a name that fits her character just like Betty Sue fit her character–or so I thought when I started writing Storm Shadows.  But that changed over the course of the book.

I also need to come up with a title.  The working title is Sun Shadows, which works in two ways, first, this one takes place in summer which is a season associated with sun and warm weather and second, it’s a sort of play on the word “son” since the heroine has a son who wreaks havoc with Luke’s happily-ever-after.  But, I don’t know, Sun Shadows sounds pretty bland and boring to me so maybe that will change before I finish writing it.  Then again, maybe not.

Anyway, I’m going to take the next couple of days to do some research, a lot of gardening and as little housework as I can get away with and then it’s back to writing.  Oh, happy days, indeed!

