I’m participating in the 31DBBB (31 Days to Build a Better Blog) hosted by Darren Rowse.  Today is the first day and already I’m well, not exactly stumped, but worrying over the assignment:

Today the teaching and task revolves around the idea of creating an ‘elevator pitch’ for your blog. Really today’s task comes down to refining what it is about so that you as the blogger are crystal clear on it and so that you are able to communicate this to others.

Have I ever mentioned how much I hate elevator pitches?  Yes, hate them…but I also recognize their value and I know it’s a skill I need to develop–the ability to sum up what I want to say into a few compelling words.  I have a tendency to be a bit, um, verbose, shall we say?  If I can learn how to curtail that tendency, it would help me with my writing, e.g. synopses, blurbs, taglines; and maybe it would take away my fear of those 140 character Tweets *shudder* on Twitter.  Plus, I wrote a post some time ago about branding yourself as an author which is another area where being able to express yourself in just a few words would be helpful. 

So, today my task is to come up with an elevator pitch for my blog and since I’m also hoping to apply whatever I learn from 31DBBB to the Dames of Dialogue blog, I get to do it twice.  *sigh*  Looks like I have my work cut out for me!

Note:  If you’d like to sign up for 31DBBB or just follow along, click on the link above and it’ll take you to Problogger.  From there you can find out everything you need to know.  Even if you don’t won’t to join in, if you’re a blogger, take a look at the site, there are a lot of interesting and helpful tips on there.
