Who was it that said “April is the cruelest month…”?  T. S. Eliot, right?  In his poem The Waste Land, right?  Well, that may be true for some, but not for me, not this year anyway.  January gets my vote this year.  It just about did me in and I’m behind on everything but things are looking up…

Today, the sun is out, the temperature is a balmy 65 after a week of cold days and even colder nights, and yesterday was Truck Day!  If you’re a Boston Red Sox fan, you know what that means; baseball season is just around the corner.  Only five days until pitchers and catchers report–including our captain, Jason Varitek!–to Ft. Myers, Florida and the rest of the team won’t be far behind.  Yay!  And the best thing about the baseball season for me?  Hope!

Along with warmer weather and the start of Spring Training, February also brings me new hope in the form of High Country Writers.  Yep, that’s right, I joined a writer’s group and I will be, if the weather and my health allows, going to meetings twice a month.  It’s a two and a half hour drive up to Boone for the meetings, but I think it will be worth it.  If nothing else, I hope being involved with this group will get me back on track with my writing because that was another thing that suffered in January.  Worst case of writer’s block–EVER!–and I am more than ready for it to be over!

And finally, the number one reason February is about hope for me this year, on February 14th at dawn, we have the dawning of the age of Aquarius–I bet all you baby boomers out there know what I’m talking about!  For those who weren’t lucky enough to be around in the 60’s, here you go (from the musical Hair, lyrics by James Rado and Gerome Ragni):

When the moon is in the Seventh House
And Jupiter aligns with Mars
Then peace will guide the planets
And love will steer the stars

This is the dawning of the Age of Aquarius
The Age of Aquarius
Aquarius! Aquarius!

Harmony and understanding
Sympathy and trust abounding
No more falsehoods or derisions
Golden living dreams of visions
Mystic crystal revelation
And the mind’s true liberation
Aquarius! Aquarius!

When the moon is in the Seventh House
And Jupiter aligns with Mars
Then peace will guide the planets
And love will steer the stars

This is the dawning of the Age of Aquarius
The Age of Aquarius
Aquarius! Aquarius!

Can’t get any more hopeful than that, can you?

