Haven’t posted in the last two weeks because…well, don’t really have an excuse beyond baseball and the postseason, so let me start out by congratulating the Tampa Bay Rays.  The Red Sox put up a good fight but in the end, the Rays came out on top.  Kudos to them and here’s hoping they go on to win the series!

Now that baseball season is more or less over, at least in my world, I can get back to my regularly scheduled life.  I need to finish revising Storm Shadows, work on the next book in that series, and move forward with my WIP based on the Cherokee legend of the enchanted lake.  With Christmas coming and the December release of my next book, Unwilling Angel, which like the one already out, Snow Shadows, takes place at Christmas, I also need to make up my mind about promotions–what to do, what not to do, what works, what’s a waste of time, etc.  Yikes!  Can we say angst and procrastination?  Yeah well, maybe not you, but I sure can.  

Then yesterday, as if reading my mind, Jane at Dear Author put up a post; What Works for Online Advertising for Books.  Very interesting and informative and if you take the time to read the comments, extremely helpful for an angst-ridden, procrastinating writer like me.  Several authors and at least one publisher chime in and offer up their thoughts on what works and what’s a waste of time and/or money when it comes to promoting your book.  Pay particular attention to comment #23 by Jill Noelle Noble of Noble Romance Publishing.  She has some pretty good suggestions.

A little aside here, I don’t know anything about this publisher but I have to say I love the look of their website; sharp, clean, uncluttered with clear submission guidelines, and hey, check it out, like L&L Dreamspell, they pay advances.  Also like LLD, the money from the advances won’t make you rich, but it’s something you don’t often see in world of epublishing and I have to say, I hope it’s a sign of things to come.  Wish I wrote what they’re looking for, but if you do write erotic romance, you might want to check them out.

Anyway, back to the post at DA, several people mention the importance of having a website (check), and a blog (check), and maintaining them both (um, not so good at that part, but I’m trying).  And though it isn’t mentioned in the comments–unless I missed it, which is entirely possible since I was reading during last night’s game–I know a lot of authors who laud the importance of branding your name.  The first step to doing that, it seems to me, is to create a tagline (check), use it on your website and any other online site you have (partial check) and include it as a signature in all your emails and any posts you make on the groups you belong to (again, not so much).  In short, get your name out there with a recognizable tagline, one that readers will equate with you and your books.

So, I have a tagline, Romancing the Legends, but the only place I really use it is on my website because there’s this one teensy little problem with it; while all my books are romances, not all of them are based on legends.  For example, the one coming out in December doesn’t have anything to do with legends…unless you consider having an Elvis sighting of your favorite author several months after he died a legend!  Still, the majority of what I write now has at least one Cherokee legend interwoven in the story so I’m thinking I should use the tagline more.

Like, for instance, on my blog.  Which means I’d have to change the header and possibly the theme–not so hard to do on WordPress, but a thing of nightmares for a technically challenged gal like me!  Still, I’ll do it because I’ve been playing around with this idea for a while now, and I had just about made up my mind to change this blog to “Cait’s Tales” with a picture of cattails against a golden sky as my header.  But now I’m thinking it would be better to go with my tagline to tie it all together in a nice, neat bow.  But, if I go with Cait’s Tales, that would encompass all my work and could be used even with my YA and children’s books–if I ever get up the nerve to submit one of them to a publisher!  But, Cait’s Tales isn’t really a tagline…is it? 

Sheesh!  More angst!  And all this has the theme song from that old TV series, Branded, circling through my mind:

**Branded!
Playing the writer’s game.
How can you make sure you’re branded,
And stake your claim to fame?

**Couldn’t find who wrote this, but my apologies to whoever it was for changing the lyrics!

