My life right now is a hodgepodge of beginnings and endings which is why I haven’t posted anything here in a while.  I’ve been busy packing–who knew two people could accumulate so much stuff in less than two years?  And that’s not even counting what’s still packed and stored away from the last move!–going through the first round of edits on an upcoming e-book, Unwilling Angel, polishing Storm Shadows, the second book in my Eternal Shadows series in preparation for submitting it to the publisher–yep, that’s right, I finished it last Friday but it needs a good deal of work before it’s ready for anyone else to read–and working on the opening scene for the next book in that series–just sort of getting a feel for the characters.  I have wedding showers for my niece to go to, the wedding itself in less than a month, I need to find a wedding present, something to wear that will be comfortable in the August heat and still look at least halfway wedding-ish, get started promoting Snow Shadows which is coming out next month, fill out those pesky change-of-address cards from the post office, set up my new office, etc., etc., etc.  The list is as long as my arm and growing.

And I find myself putting all of that away to dream over the Asheville and Blue Ridge Humane Society web sites, looking for a dog–or two!–for my new, completely fenced-in, huge backyard.  Not to mention a couple of cats for the house.  I’ve found several of both, but I’m not fooling myself that they’ll still be there when my husband and I finally get moved in and are ready to adopt.  Still, in the case of one particular dog, I sure am hoping.

He’s a hound mix named Leroy and the Asheville Humane society had him at one of the local pet stores last Saturday and well, can we all say, “love at first sight”?  I’d seen him before, of course, in a picture on their web site.  In fact, he was the first dog I saw there and I immediately fell in love, but when I saw him “live and in canine” I wanted to grab him up and take him home right then and there.  Perfect size, adorable face, calm demeanor, friendly, likes other dogs–which is nice since he’ll have a brother or sister–and a look in his eyes that brought tears to mine–sad, hopeless resignation.  I’d love to be the one who changes that look to happy, confident security.

Only time will tell, but if not me, and someone else adopts him first, I’ll try not to mind.  After all, that’s what the Humane Society shelters are all about, giving rescued animals another chance at the life they deserve by finding them a happy home.  So, Leroy, if you’re gone when I finally get all this other stuff behind me and I show up at the shelter looking for a pet–or four!–I hope your new family takes that sad look of hopeless resignation out of your beautiful eyes and replaces it with love.

In the meantime, I’d like to include a link here to the “Click to Give Free Food and Care” site for every animal lover out there.  I hope you’ll do like I do and click daily!  And after you click, take a look around the site.  Believe me, it’s awesome and one you’ll want at the top of your favorites list!

