I don’t know why, but I haven’t been in the mood to blog about anything lately.  It’s not that there isn’t anything going on in my life.  There’ve been quite a few times during the last week that I saw or read something that made me think, “oh, gee, that would make a good blog topic,” but well, I moved on to something else and before long, the “blog oomph” faded away.  I guess you could say my “blogging muse” has gone on vacation.  Not that I blame her, the weather has been beautiful here in western NC and I imagine it’s even better out on the Outer Banks or up in Virginia Beach or even down in Myrtle Beach.

While my blog muse has been lolling on some tropical beach somewhere, though, my paranormal romance muse has stepped up to the plate.  I’ve been working on Storm Shadows, the second book in my Eternal Shadows series and making quite a bit of progress.  I’m now at 23,000 words, about a third of the way through, I figure.  Next up, the middle–arrgh!  I don’t know about other writers out there, but the first oh, say, twenty thousand or so words of a book are always the easiest for me.  After that, I tend to get bogged down for a while, but when I get over the “hump” it gets easier again.  So, over the next few weeks, I know I’m going to be struggling which I hope will give me more incentive to sit down and write a blog entry about the things that strike me as “blog-worthy.

Okay, here’s the Reader’s Digest condensed version of my blog entries for the week:

1.  Moonshot Manny hit his 499th home run.  Yay, Manny!

2.  The Red Sox are limping along in second place in the AL East.  I’m blaming the fact that they’re on the road!  They can’t seem to buy a win when they’re not at Fenway, but they won last night against the Orioles, so maybe it’s only something to worry about when they go west of the Mississippi.

3.  The Tampa Bay Rays are in first place.  Huh?  Seriously, who would’ve ever guessed that would happen?  Not me, but it has me thinking that maybe dropping the “Devil” from their name wasn’t such a bad thing, after all.

4.  A new release and three re-releases of Cassie Edwards books–found these on the top shelf of my grocery store’s book section last week and well, I guess you know what I did.  Yep, hid every one of them.  Bad enough that she’s still being published, even worse that all of them had the word “Savage” in the title.  You know how I feel about that, don’t ya’?      

5.  With the release date of Snow Shadows getting closer–about three months now!–I’ve been debating over whether or not to upgrade my membership at Author’s Den.  I’ve had a membership with them for a little over a year now, but it’s the free “Lite Membership.”  Not a lot you can do with it, but my sister has their “Gold Membership” and she says she gets quite a few hits and sales from it, so I’m thinking maybe the time has come to upgrade.  Problem is, there are several options and I just can’t figure out which one I want to go with.  Bronze?  Silver?  Gold?  And now they have something called a Platinum which costs a whopping $800 a year.  $800?  Wow!  Um, I should probably wait until my book comes out and see how it goes, don’t you think?

6.  And speaking of my book coming out, I’ve received several advance reviews for Snow Shadows this past week.  So far, so good!  A couple of my favorite lines from the reviews:  

“This story is absolutely captivating!” – ParaNormal Romance

“…a fascinating story wrapped around Cherokee history and legend.” – Midwest Book Review

“There are some very dramatic moments on the mountain and I enjoyed every one of them.” – Coffee Time Romance

Not too shabby, huh?  And arrgh!  I hope I didn’t just jinx myself!  Keep your fingers crossed for me that the rest of the reviews are just as good! 

7.  Finally, I want to leave you with this link (thanks to Emily Veinglory at the EREC blog!):  Romance Epublisher Name Generator.  It does just what it says, generates a name for you if you want to be a Romance Epublisher.  A lot of fun and I thank Ms. Veinglory for the laugh! 

My name for Sweet Romance?  Misty Butterflies.  And the one for Erotic Romance is even better and very fitting, in my opinion – Scarlet (definitely Southern) Mountains (where I was born, where I live, where my Eternal Shadows series takes place, my favorite setting to write about, and my favorite place to be!)

Go ahead try it!  I’m off to put in my real name and see what I get! 

  

 

