I’m having one of those MS days when my brain isn’t firing on all cylinders, so I apologize in advance if this entry doesn’t make any sense at all or if I go off on a totally non-related tangent or for any misspelled words, grammar errors, or typos.  Haven’t had one of these in a while, but they happen and I have to deal with it and by reading this, well, you get to deal with it too!  Aren’t you the lucky one?

Okay, let’s start with the public apology issued on Monday by Roger Clemens.  Really, Roger, you call that an apology?  Sorry, but I don’t.  In Roger’s egotistical mind, I suppose he thinks saying he’s made mistakes is an appropriate apology to his fans.  And he tells us he’s apologized to his family, but I have to wonder, did he own up to exactly what he did wrong when he apologized to them, or like the statement he issued to the press, did he avoid mentioning just what it was he was apologizing for?  Does that make sense?  Probably not–blame it on the MS–but I know he never specifically stated what mistakes he’d made and I have to say, if I were Debbie Clemens, I’d want it all out there on the table.  Come on, Roger, man up!  We all know you made mistakes.  And really, who hasn’t?  But you need to say what it is you’re aplogizing for, not just offer some generic apology for making mistakes.  I mean, who’s to say you’re not apologizing for cutting off that little old lady in traffic one August afternoon or losing your temper with a sales clerk who didn’t recognize you and refused to take your check without proper ID, or hell, I don’t know, yelling at Debbie for burning your dinner or your kids for leaving their roller skates toys on the stairs.  Own up to what you did and then, maybe I’ll listen.

Next, the Ocean’s–and no, that’s not a typo, I’m speaking of Ocean’s Mist, the e-publisher who has the amazing talent of becoming invisible when it comes to addressing problems and/or paying their authors.  It seems their site is back up after weeks of…here today, gone tomorrow.  They’re up now and they’re releasing a new book by Essence, who is rumored to be none other than their owner, Noemi, the person who stiffed her authors on their royalties.  It’s also being reported by the EREC blog and Karen Know’s Best, that Loose Id and Siren have signed this woman and are releasing books by her too.  I have to say, I’ve never heard of Siren, but Loose Id has a pretty good reputation as an e-publisher.  At least, they do right now, but I just don’t know what sort of impact this is going to have on that reputation.  Me, I find it despicable that a publisher would sign a contract with someone who failed so miserably in running her own business and went into hiding when the chips were down, refusing to address her problems and pay her authors.  That’s a cheat in my book you know how I feel about cheats.  Here’s hoping readers will show their dissapproval by not buying any books by Essence, writers will avoid Ocean’s Mist like the deadliest of plagues, and authors at Loose Id and Siren will protest loudly about having a cheat on their team.  

Okay, on to Amazon.  They’ve reinstated the discount on my sister’s book, but the discount isn’t as good as it was before and they, in true “Playground Bully” fashion, didn’t deign to tell her why they chose to reinstate it or why they lowered it in the first place.  Still, I guess you could say it’s a step in the right direction for Amazon, but…but!  They’ve also banned another reviewer from their site who, in their words, was “hectoring, harassing, abusive, and spiteful.”

And there you have my WTF? award for the week.  I’ve been following that thread on Amazon for over a while now and Steven Hedge, the banned reviewer–yes, that Steven Hedge, the one who graciously righted his mistake of using my pseudonym’s (misspelled!) name in one of his posts and apologized to me on several different fronts, thereby ensuring no one mistook me for the unscrupulous author he was referring to–never came anywhere close to being any of those things Amazon is accusing him of being.  I know from my experience with him and from reading his other posts on this thread, he is one of the nicest, most courteous and articulate people I’ve ever come across in cyber-space.  Amazon needs to quit relying on their automatons to address this whole DAM (DeborahAnne MacGillivray) mess and actually take the time to read what their customers are saying.  I have a feeling if they ever do, they’re going to be wiping the egg off their face for a long time to come! 

So, we have Clemens issuing meaningless apologies and Ocean’s Mist slinking out of hiding to dupe more readers, Siren and Loose Id publishing an author who’s proven she cares nothing for other authors, and Amazon, well, taking one step forward, only to take two back.

All behaving badly and all deserving big fat OH NOES!   

   
 

