I don’t know what made me do it, but this morning as I was eating breakfast and entertaining myself surfing the Internet, I turned on the TV and guess what I found?  Baseball!  Yep, my boys were playing their season opener again the Oakland Athletics in Tokyo.  How come I didn’t know that?  I would’ve been up at the crack of dawn if I had known ESPN was going to broadcast the game. 

And believe me, I will be tomorrow morning!

So, I came into the game late, around the eighth inning, and the Red Sox were behind.  Bummer, but I started singing Tessie as I poured another cup of coffee and it wasn’t long before Tessie worked her magic again.  In the ninth, Brandon Moss–a last minute replacement for J. D. Drew–hit his first homerun in the majors and tied the game.

Believe me, that was better than ten cups of coffee to get me going!

Then, when the game went into extra innings, I got to see my favorite player, Manny Ramirez, do his thing.  And oh boy, was it a thing of beauty!  With Julio Lugo on second base, Oakland decided to walk David Ortiz and take their chances with Manny instead.  Wrong decision on their part, but I love it when that happens, especially when it plays out like it did today!  Manny hit a double–which came close to being a homerun–Big Papi and Lugo rounded third and headed for home and the Red Sox won their first game of the season.  Woo-hoo!  

The thing is…I really don’t get it when teams intentionally walk Ortiz and take their chances with Manny.  It always makes me shake my head.  Just doesn’t make sense to me, but then, like Oakland manager, Bob Geren, said, “they’re both great hitters and you have to pick one or the other.”  And I guess, in the case of Ortiz and Manny, it sometimes seems like the classic no-win scenario.  I’m just glad they play for my team.

So, baseball’s back and with it comes the Red Sox, Manny, and unlimited hope for another winning season.  God’s in His heaven, smiling down at all us baseball fans, and at least for the moment, all’s right in my world…

play ball!

