Yes, I know, I’ve loved him since…forever, but after reading this article on the Red Sox site, Manny finds wisdom with touch of gray, by Maureen Mullen, I’m more in love with him than ever.

He is, to me, the epitome of a baseball player, one who plays the game and plays it well, who enjoys what he does, and one who keeps his head on straight.

Yes, that’s right, I said Manny has his head on straight.  I know there are many people who don’t agree with me, who say uncomplimentary things about his intelligence, but I’m here to tell you, it just ain’t so.  Manny has his moments, sure, but if you listen, really listen to what he’s saying, he makes a lot of sense.

For instance, on growing older:  “The older you get, the smarter you get.”

On the power of positive thinking:  “…if you think positive stuff, all the positive stuff is going to come to you. Making things happen for yourself. Hey, that’s what it’s all about. If you said to yourself, ‘Oh, I’m tired today, brother.’ Then you’re going to be tired all day. That’s it. That’s what it’s all about.” 

On reading (his new favorite pastime):  “That’s all I do is read, read, read, read, read.  I love it.”

Followed by:  “Hanging out with my uncle and taking him everywhere with me, he always tell me, ‘When you got time, when you’re killing time, when you don’t got nothing to do, go get a book and start reading.'”

About life after baseball:  “All this stuff here — baseball — is just like a fantasy that you have.  But you leave that when you leave the game. You start living your life after you retire, your real life.”

And later:  “My main goal when I retire is that I want to see my kids grow. I want to teach them about life. The game is good and everything, but … “

Now, if that’s not a man who has his head screwed on right, I don’t know who or what is.

The thing is…I’ve been a fan of Manny’s for a long time.  Don’t know why that is, other than the first time I saw him play for the Red Sox, something just turned over in my heart and I’ve loved him ever since.  Now that he’s getting older, with a little gray in his hair, that just adds to the appeal for me–hey, ask my husband if you don’t believe me.  I love a man with a little sprinkle of gray, like laugh lines, it adds character. 

I’ve always said Manny knew what the game of baseball was all about and people always laughed at me for that.  Well, now I’m saying Manny not only knows baseball, he also knows what the game of life is about.

Be still my heart!

If you’d like to read the entire article, click here:

http://boston.redsox.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20080312&content_id=2421424&vkey=spt2008news&fext=.jsp&c_id=bos

And thanks to Ms. Mullen for this wonderful article about my favorite player! 

