Lots of things going on in my world the last few days and I don’t have a clue where to start talking, er, writing about it.  I guess I should just close my eyes, hold my nose and jump right in.

First–and most exciting!–I have a release date on my book.  August 16th!  Woo-hoo!  Adding to the thrill of that is the fact that the 16th is one week to the day after my niece’s wedding.  Ooooh, August is going to be so hot!  Well, okay, August is always hot in the southeast, but this year there’s going to be a lot of Snoopy dances going on and that’s likely to ratchet up the heat a couple of notches, at least in my world!

Second, there’s news of another e-publisher who seems to be showing signs of going down.  Not saying it’s so, but from all I’ve read over the last couple of days, New Concepts Publishing is acting a lot like Twilight Fantasies acted right before they closed up shop and slinked away into the night.  According to several of their authors, they’re not answering emails, not addressing problems raised by the authors on the authors’ loop, giving preferential treatment to the books written by the owners of the company, not sending books out for reviews, not promoting, etc., etc., etc.  I feel sorry for their authors, because I know how it feels to be treated like that and I’m hoping for the best, but you know me, expecting the worst.  I hope, whatever happens, they at least have the decency to stand up and take responsibility for their actions and not just close up shop, leaving their authors hanging like Twilight did.  

Third, Josh Beckett is injured–oh noes!–and probably won’t make the flight to Japan for the games the Red Sox are scheduled to play there next week.  First Schilling, then Beckett.  This is so not good, but I’m trying to look at it as a blessing in disguise.  I wasn’t too thrilled about the team flying all that way just to play a couple of games then turning around and flying all that way back again just days before the season starts.  And maybe, if this back injury keeps Beckett from making that long flight, he’ll be ready for the season opener here at home–at least I hope so!

Fourth, I’ve been working on updating my website now that I have a release date and I have to tell you, that’s a lot of work!  I’ve got four books releasing this year and I’m trying to get all the info on them straightened out and posted.  Arrgh!  Looks like I need to morph back into a teacher and make detailed plans for every minute of every hour of every day.  I hate that!  But my website looks really good, even if I do say so myself!

Fifth, I caught a post on AOL MLB Fanhouse the other day about Roger Clemens that sent me off into gales of laughter.  It seems the Huntsville Stars, a minor league team in Alabama, have come up with a new logo for their team which includes a rocket.  So, what did they do?  Yep, they offered “Rocket” Clemens a job as their back-up mascot.  He won’t make the millions of dollars he’s used to and thinks he’s worth, but it’s not a bad salary–$25 a game.  IMO, more than he’s worth.  Especially since he’ll only have to work on the days their primary mascot, Homer the Polecat, can’t work.  Here’s the link if you want to read the post.  Warning: if you have a drink in your hands, put it down and swallow whatever’s in your mouth before you read!

http://sports.aol.com/fanhouse/2008/03/06/roger-clemens-gets-a-job-offer/

Ya’ think he’ll take it?  Doubtful, given his arrogance.  Maybe they should offer him the position of Homer the Polecat–much more fitting, to my way of thinking.  He wouldn’t even have to wear a costume, just a sweatshirt with the name Homer on it.  I think most of the fans, being from the south, will get it.

Sixth, I spent all day Saturday, working on the dedication and acknowledgements page for my book.  The dedication was easy since it’s been in my heart for a long time now, but the acknowledgement page–ack!  Hard!  Well, maybe not hard, but definitely boring.  To avoid even the merest whiff of the “Cassie Edwards thing”, I cited the books and Internet pages I used for my research.  I also added a special thank you to the Lone Wolf site because, hey, they taught me the most important thing of all…

I’m a Twinkie!*  That still makes me smile! 

* https://caitlynhunter.wordpress.com/2007/10/28/im-a-twinkie/

