My husband’s been out of town this week and despite my love of solitude, I find myself missing him–he laughed when I said as much in our nightly phone call last night.  You see, he understands me and he knows how much I value my “alone time”, especially now that I’m writing.  But even before that, I loved it when he had to travel and I got to stay “home alone”.

What prompted me to tell him I missed him?  Well, something happened yesterday and I wanted to tell him about it, but since he’s in Raleigh on a business trip, I kept it to myself–for now! 

What happened?  It wasn’t anything monumental or life-changing, but it meant a lot to me.

Okay, okay, enough stalling.  Hmmm, well, my day started off in its usual ho-hum fashion–I got up, had a cup of coffee, spent thirty minutes on my elliptical machine, ate breakfast while screwing around on the Internet and catching up with the news, wrote an email to my sister, thought about writing a blog entry then nixed that idea, and finally settled in to get some writing done on a new story idea I had the other day. 

Fifteen hundred words and a few hours later, I needed a break so, I logged back onto the Internet and thinking I might just write that blog entry after all, clicked on WordPress.  With my ongoing fascination for blog stats, I clicked on them first and got a nice surprise at the number of hits I’d had on the entry I wrote on Tuesday–Deadly Virus Hits Publishing Industry!  Couldn’t figure it out, I mean that story isn’t exactly hot news.  As a matter of fact, my entry came several days after the news broke on the first scandal and um, I think it was a day after the second.  So I looked at the “Referrers” section of my stats and there were a lot of hits coming from Smart Bitches Who Love Trashy Books. 

Anyway, long story short–I know, I know, too late for that, right?–my blog and I had been mentioned in a post on SB/TB!  Squeeee!!!  I love that sight!  Really!  Almost as much as I love Manny Ramirez and the Red Sox.  I’ve written about the SB’s before, even gotten a comment on one of my Cassie Edwards’ posts from one of them, but I never expected to be mentioned on their site!

I tell you, it was a real OMG! minute for me, and that was why I missed my husband–or one of the reasons, anyway.  Though he usually doesn’t understand my fan-girl-moments–especially when it comes to Manny–he always indulges me and lets me get it out of my system.  In fact, you might say his most romantic moments come when I’m acting like a squealy teen-aged girl.  He’ll grab me and dance me around the room.  Of course, that could be self-defense on his part, because I stop squealing and just enjoy the fact that I’m dancing with someone who understands me and loves me for who I am.

It doesn’t get much better than that, does it?

Oh, in case you want to read a good blog post–which, coincidentally, has my name in it, squeee!–here’s the link:

http://www.smartbitchestrashybooks.com/index.php/weblog/the_fallout_continues/

A huge bouquet of roses and thank-yous to SB/TB for mentioning me!

The thing is…(you didn’t think I’d leave that out, did you?) I’m told promotion is all important for a writer.  It’s vital to get your name out there where the readers can see it.  I get that, but on top of being a loner, I also have a shy streak a mile-wide and tend to go a little squicky when it comes to promoting my name.  SB/TB just did it for me and gave me one of the nicest gifts I’ve ever received!

To quote them, “big ups!

