My second post of the day has to do with…baseball, of course!  Lots of things going on around Red Sox Nation and am I ever ecstatic to type that!  Woo-hoo!

Here’s the latest on my personal boys of summer:

Terry Francona and the Red Sox have agreed to a three-year contract extension, with a two-year option.  Super!  Go get ’em, Tito!

The Red Sox were at the White House last week to accept the President’s congratulations on winning the World Series.  My man Manny opted out of the appearance to stay home and meditate, which apparently has become his thing to do when he’s off.  A lot of people–mostly Yankee fans–were upset that Manny didn’t see fit to go, calling him, among other things, classless.  Hmmm…well, after catching George W.’s comments regarding Manny’s absence at the ceremony, I have to say our President behaved like a spoiled little boy denied his lollipop.  I mean, come on, how classy is it to joke about the death of a family member?  I don’t care if you are the President of the United States, you don’t make jokes like that.  Granted, some of my feelings about this one are colored because I’m a Manny fan girl, and I can’t claim to be anywhere near a fan of George Bush, but beyond that, I think what he said was tasteless and not the least bit funny.

Jonathan Papelbon is, according to the bloggers over at AOL Sports, unhappy with his salary.  Okay, I agree with him to a certain extent, he probably is underpaid, but come on, Paps, you make almost half a million dollars a year.  How many young men your age can say that?  The day will come when you’ll be paid and paid well for your skills.  In the meantime, I really don’t want to hear any whining and I don’t want to hear anymore about you rallying the other young guys around you to put the owners on notice they’re going to have to pay in the long run.  I dare say they’re well aware of that.  Oh, and Paps, one last thing, curb that arrogance, it makes you look a little too much like Roger Clemens–and you know how I feel about him!

Last but not least, a few words of wisdom (?) from Hank Steinbrenner to Red Sox Nation:  “We’re going to put the Yankees back on top and restore the universe to order.”  I gotta tell you, I had a good laugh imagining all those Yankee fans groaning over Steinbrenner’s idiocy.  Jinx!  Jinx!

But that laugh was nothing compared to the one I had when I read that Red Sox owner John Henry made Steinbrenner an honorary member of Red Sox Nation, complete with membership card and all the other perks that come with it.  Still chuckling over that little bit of foolishness!  Thanks Mr. Henry, way to come back on that one!

Outside of Red Sox Nation, Bud Selig has seen fit not to suspend Barry Bonds or Roger Clemens for the 2008 season.  Not sure how I feel about that, I guess we’ll have to wait and see whether either one of them are offered a contract.  Me, I wouldn’t be willing to take the chance with my money, I wouldn’t want them in my clubhouse simply because of their egos.  IMO, people like that hurt a team far more than they ever help it.

