One of my favorite quotes about writing comes from Anais Nin:

“I believe one writes because one has to create a world in which one can live.”

That’s very true for me, and I do that a lot when I’m writing, but I don’t think it should be applied to real life.  Roger Clemens, though, must disagree with me.  He’s developed his own little world, one in which he can live, and no one, not even his wife, is exempt from his stupidity.   

I’ve suspected it for a while now, but proof came yesterday, when he was asked by a reporter about the steroids issue.  His reply?

“That’s over. That’s over.  Everything’s been said that needs to be said on that. We’re moving forward. It’s baseball time. We’re going to enjoy that.”

I’m all for the “baseball time” and agree wholeheartedly that “we’re going to enjoy” it, but “it’s over”?  Living in a dream world, Roger.  You can say it’s over if you want, but like Yogi said, it ain’t over till it’s over, and this is definitely not over.  There’s a little matter of Congress and the probability that you’ll be facing a perjury charge sometime in the future. 

Did you forget about that?  Or maybe you “misremembered”?  Or in your charmed world, did you wave your magic wand and make it disappear?  Come on, Roger, your arrogance is creeping me out.  Ick!

And while I have you, your wife’s behavior at that party you claim you didn’t attend were only at for a few minutes?  Did she really do that?  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have anything against breast augmentation, but to have it done and then go to a party and compare the results to another woman who’s had the same surgery…eew, ack!  

As for you joking about the incident afterwards in the locker room, pardon me, but gag me with a spoon!

The thing is, Roger…your behavior is nothing short of deplorable.

And Debbie, oh, Debbie, I’m starting to really hope you are supporting this clueless wonder because of the money.  I could understand that, but if you’re staying in his make-believe world because you love him, please, pinch youself and wake the hell up!  The man tossed you to the dogs–in front of Congress and most of the civilized world, no less–and now we find out you’re the butt of his locker room jokes.

Are you really going to stand for that?  Honey, there’s not enough money in the world.  And if you are staying for love, I think you’re just as delusional as he is.  He may say he loves you, but that love is questionable given the lack of respect he’s showing you.

