Yesterday, my editor sent me a PDF file of my upcoming book, Snow Shadows.  It’s not the finished product, we still have a lot of work to do, but the end is coming closer.  I’ve been reading through it this morning and making a few changes, all the while trying to figure out exactly how to describe this feeling running through me…

And failing miserably.  I’m a writer, I should be able to come up with the words to describe it…but I just can’t.  Not that the words aren’t there, they are, in fact they’re tumbling through my mind.  Words like ecstatic, overjoyed, euphoric, gleeful, thrilled, over the moon, and on and on and on.  But none of them expresses how I really feel.

How do you describe the feeling that comes with attaining your wildest dream?  I don’t know, but I know I’ll keep searching, because that’s what I do.  I play with words, shuffle them around in my head, write them down, and try to arrange them in the perfect sequence to express my feelings or the feelings of my characters.

But this time, I’m, well, speechless.

The thing is…this isn’t my first book and I shouldn’t be so utterly dumbfounded.  I’ve had two e-books published and yes, I was delighted when I was offered the contracts for them, and even more thrilled when I downloaded them and saw my words in cyber-print for the first time.  But this book…this book will not only be released as an e-book, this book will also be in print, a first for me.  Which is, I expect, why I’m so overwhelmed. 

And I’m sure the first time I hold this book, this child of my imagination, in my hands, there’s going to be a whole truckload of other feelings for me to try to describe.

The thing that keeps running through my head today is a line from one of my favorite songs by John Mellencamp, Just Like You:

I’m living in my head
Too much life in my veins
Forgetting all of the time
We’re always in motion with angels…

Indeed.  That pretty much describes my life right now.  So, maybe I need to take a break from editing and trying to describe my feelings and move on to thanking some of those earth-bound angels who are always with me.

Like those emotions running rampant through me, my life is overflowing with angels at the moment.

angel-thank-you.gif 

