I’m not a big fan of Valentine’s Day.  Don’t know why that is, it just never meant very much to me.  I mean I love getting flowers and my husband just sent me a beautiful bouquet of red carnations–my favorite–but I’m not into chocolate and I’m against the whole card thing because hey, dead trees!  So Valentine’s Day is way down my list of preferred holidays.

I know, I know, I write romance, it should be right up there at number one, right? 

Well, this year it is, because it’s also the day pitchers and catchers report to Spring Training.  You know what that means–baseball season is almost upon us and after the beating the sport–and my love of it–took yesterday, it can’t come soon enough for me.

(Fair warning I’m going to go off on a little side rant here!)

So, I wasted two hours of my life watching Roger Clemens testifying to Congress about the Mitchell Report yesterday.  If you ask me, Clemens represents everything that’s wrong with professional sports and after his repeated attestations of innocence, I found myself having to control an urge to throw the nearest hard object at my TV.  Good thing I didn’t have a baseball handy!

Can we all say overpaid arrogant jerk?  Well, I can, and let me assure you, I did.  Several times, in fact.

The thing is…I already knew I didn’t like Clemens, but after yesterday I have to tell you, I’m even more disgusted by his wife.  There’s an acronym that’s popular in the romance community right now; TSTL.  It refers to a character, most often, but certainly not limited to, the heroine of a book who is Too Stupid To Live.

And that’s exactly how I feel about Debbie Clemens.  It’s bad enough she’s married to a jerk, but now she’s letting him use her to try and clear his name…or maybe just deflect some of the suspicion away from him…or something.  I’m not really sure at this point, but IMO, her saying she let Brian McNamee inject her with HGH without her husband’s knowledge, just made me think maybe these two were meant for each other.

Why would a woman do that?  Why, if you had a husband who was being raked over the coals, would you throw yourself down there with him?  I suppose it could be love, but I think it’s more a case of protecting all those millions her husband has milked from baseball.  Or maybe she’s been living with someone who is TSTL for so long that she’s caught the disease.  Whatever.

And so, on this day for lovers, I crown her TSTL Queen of the Day.

As for Mr. Clemens, my pick for TSTL King, I’d like to ask him what kind of a man that makes him?  You remind me of the playground bully who when challenged runs home to Mommy and hides behind her skirt.

Like I said, arrogant overpaid jerk–and might I toss in, moronic, idiotic, childish, immature…well, you get the picture!

Okay, now that I’ve got that out of my system, I want to wish all of you a Happy Valentine’s Spring Training Day!  The future’s so bright we have to wear shades…

Especially if you’re a Red Sox fan!  

