I wasn’t one of those authors who loudly professed my outrage at what Cassie Edwards did on any of the many blog sites that reported on her plagiarism.  Sure, I lurked daily, read what others had to say, agreed with most, and disagreed with a few.  But outside my own blog, I didn’t come right out and say how disgusted the whole thing made me.

The thing is…even though all the uproar seems to have died down, what Ms. Edwards did still bothers me.  So, yesterday when I saw a number of her books on display at a bookstore, well, I picked them up a couple at a time and quietly took them off to another section of the store, as far away from the romance books as I could get, and then I hid them behind other books so no one could see they were there.  On my way home, I stopped by the grocery store for a few things and while I was there, I did the same thing with every Cassie Edwards book I could find in their book section.

Not a very strong or loud show of support for the authors she plagiarized, I grant you, and completely unfair to the clerks in the store since they’ll have to put them back in their proper places–if they ever find them!–but it worked for me.

Will I do it again?  Well…yeah, I will.  Because I firmly believe her publishers–or even she–should’ve pulled every single one of her books off the shelves when all this first came out.  But they didn’t and so I’m staging my own little protest rally, or sit-in, or demonstration, or whatever you want to call it.

<sigh>  Once a baby boomer, always a baby boomer.

