That pretty much sums up how my days went last week–you know, nothing exciting enough to make your heart race and all kinds of things that make you shrug and say, “Oh, okay, so that happened.”

The top ten occurrences in my life last week:

1.  I finished the first round of edits on my paranormal romance, Snow Shadows, and sent it back to the editor.  That’s usually a yippee for me, but this time it was more like a “Whew!  Glad that’s over.”  No reflection on my editor or my publisher, it’s just my happy gene seems to be on the fritz right now.

2.  My husband and I, after looking at a million or so houses, have narrowed it down to two, which should be another “Yippee!” but I can’t seem to work up any more enthusiasm than “Okay, make the offer and we’ll see what they say.”  See what I mean about my happy gene?

3.  The Patriots lost the Super Bowl and after maybe two seconds of shocked disbelief, I couldn’t help but feel proud of Eli Manning and the Giants–mostly for Eli, ’cause after all, the Giants are a New York team and being a Red Sox fan practically from birth, well…nuff said.  But since Eli’s dad, Archie, and his brother, Peyton, are so closely connected to my alma mater, the University of Tennessee and I watched Peyton play at Neyland Stadium countless times, I almost feel like I’m a part of their very extended family, so congrats to you Eli!  And maybe now I can get that darned Three Dog Night song out of my head!  Eli’s coming…

4.  Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers were the halftime show–a major plus for me as I’ve been a fan for…forever.  But they didn’t play any of my favorite songs, so okay, that was nice, but nothing to jump up and down about.  Tom, why the heck couldn’t you play “Mary Jane’s Last Dance”?  It’s only one of the greatest rock songs ever and I probably maybe, um, there’s a slight chance I would’ve gotten up and danced a step or two…or at least thought about it.

5.  I worked on updating my web site, but I’m having trouble getting excited about that right now.  Maybe when I actually have a book on the market again, that’ll get better, but while I wait…blah.  No help for that, as far as release dates go, writers are more or less at the mercy of their publishers.

6.  I decided to take the month of February to polish up some of the books I have finished and see if I can’t get them ready to submit to publishers.  I currently have a half dozen completed manuscripts gathering cyber-dust on my computer and I need to do something with them.  I’m not making it a goal or a resolution–you know how I am about those!–I’m merely looking at them and trying to polish them enough to submit them.  If I make it, I make it.  If I don’t, well, such is life.

7.  The thing is…I don’t even have enough for a top ten list.  Ho-hum, that’s my life right now, it’s happening, but it ain’t anything to get excited about.

Then again, maybe it’s the dreary, rainy weather we’ve been having here in the mountains of North Carolina that’s got my emotions muted. 

Uh-oh, here comes another song–rainy days and Mondays always get me down…    

