Maria Schneider, one of the WD bloggers, recently wrote an interesting post on her blog, The Writer’s Perspective, which listed twenty, count ’em, twenty, tips for being a good blogger.  Here’s the link if you’re interested:

http://www.writersdigest.com/writersperspective/20+Tips+For+Good+Blogging.aspx

<note to self, learn how to do that link thingie!> 

Going by what she wrote, I’m sorry to say, I’m not a very good blogger.  I don’t think I do even half of the things she lists, and being a computer moron, I don’t understand some of them!  But she didn’t put the post out there to make me feel bad about my sloppy blogging habits.  She put it out there to help me become a better blogger.  That works for me.  I think I’ll print off what she wrote, hang it on my bulletin board, and see if I can’t follow some of her suggestions.

And maybe, just maybe, I’ll end up a better blogger–but I’m not holding my breath.  There are too many times I don’t have anything at all I want to blog about, and too many times I just don’t have the time, and too many times I…well, you get the idea.

The thing is…there are also times when I’d love nothing more than to have one of those cool blogs, you know, where people hang out and post comment after comment.  And then I think about some of the blogs I read on a regular basis, and some of the comments they get and well, no thanks.  Invariably there’s at least one person on there who makes me want to throw my computer against the wall and go looking for the idiot who had the nerve to post such a stupid, inane comment and beat some sense in them.  S0…nope, not for me, definitely don’t need that kind of aggravation and rage in my life.

And, as I look down at the word count now, I see I’ve failed at yet another of Ms. Schneider’s tips, keeping my entry down to around three hundred words.

<sigh>

Oh well, looks like I’m doomed before I start.

One last thing before I go, I dare you to take a look at her blog entry, and see if you’re a good blogger.  It’s really kind of fun, especially if you don’t take it too seriously, but if you’re a serious blogger, you probably already do most of what she says and…yikes!  I’m almost at four hundred words.

I think I’ll shut up now!

