Fall has arrived here in the mountains of western North Carolina and God is painting my world with wondrous, sparkling color.  All I have to do is look out my window to see it, but I’ve been so caught up in all this mess with my publisher–more on that later!–that I haven’t paid much attention.  Until yesterday when, as if to remind me not to take this beautiful array of colors for granted, God steered me in a new direction.

My husband and I were looking at a house that we’d noticed a couple of months ago when it was listed as a lease to own deal.  We liked the house, loved the location, but the price they were asking for rent–with the never certain option of buying–was way too much.  I mean, why would we pay close to two thousand dollars a month to rent–essentially–when we could buy for the same or less.  So, anyway, when the real estate agent called and said they’d listed it for sale, we went to take another look.

It’s located on a road that runs beside the French Broad River then veers off to go up a mountain.  It has an acre of land with it, and is almost completely secluded from houses around it–which is a very big deal for someone like me who isn’t a “people person” and would be happy if she never had to actually talk to another person.  The only thing we don’t like is the amount of development going on around it, but we’re pretty sure we can live with that.  Still, my husband, knowing how I am and being slightly anal on top of that, decided we needed to drive around and check out the rest of the area to look for signs of future development…

and don’t ask me how, but we ended up in Pisgah National Forest on a one-way gravel road that wound up the side of another mountain then back down again.  We still haven’t figured out where we went wrong, but we spent almost an hour on that bumpy, winding road and when we finally got off, we were on the Blue Ridge Parkway, thirty miles west of Asheville.

The thing is…that unplanned drive brought home all I was missing by not looking out my window every day and noticing what was going on all around me.  God is painting furiously and He’s using not just all His colors, but every hue and tint He can find.  My favorites are the yellows, everything from brilliant, sundrop lemon to muted, dusty gold, and the reds, which range from dazzling, garish crimson to intense, smoky burgundy.  The other colors of the rainbow are there too; the oranges, blues, greens, and even touches of deep violet in some of the red leaves.

So, my world is a living rainbow right now.  Is yours?  Take a look out your window…and I hope you see not only the colors all around you, but also the promises and hopes to be found as God swirls the different shades on His palette and creates a glorious, ever-changing masterpiece!

