In case you haven’t heard, the Red Sox swept the World Series right out from under a red-hot Colorado Rockies team.  Everyone, including Fox Sports, okay, most of all Fox Sports, had an ongoing love affair with the Rockies and were pulling for them to win.  Oops!  My boys and all the members of Red Sox Nation–of which I am a member–had something different in mind.  And all I’ve got to say is “how sweet it is!”

I know it’s cliche, but I can’t think of a better way to tell you how good this feels.  Sure, we won in 2004, and a lot of people–especially Yankees fans–claimed it was just a “fluke.”  We “got lucky” they said and “enjoy it because it’ll be another 86 years before it happens again.”  Yeah, right.

Last night as I watched my boys celebrate on Coors Field, I started wondering what they’re going to say now.  I didn’t have long to wait.  The Yankee fans who are usually so vocal on the AOL MLB FanHouse blogs have been unusually quiet this post season, but it didn’t take long for the Cleveland Indians fans and the Colorado Rockies fans to pop up and start saying Boston had “bought” the World Series by paying outrageous amounts of money to their players.

Bad sportsmanship.  Sore losers.  Sour grapes.  Whatever you want to call it, that’s all it is.  I don’t want to hear it because they obviously didn’t watch the same World Series I watched.  Our veterans and higher paid players are great, sure, and they might, just might, have been able to pull this off by themselves, but the guys who really stepped up to the plate and won the games for us this year are the rookies.  Dustin Pedroia, Hideki Okajima, Daisuke Matsuzaka, and Jacoby Ellsbury–who isn’t even considered a rookie yet.  The list goes on and on, and though he’s not a rookie any  more, you can’t forget Jonathan Papelbon.  Those are the guys who carried us to the pinnacle.  I don’t want to take anything away from our veteran players, but damn!  Those young players, some of which don’t even look old enough to have a driver’s license, have been just flat-out unbelievable!

So, talk all you want about Boston “buying” the World Series.  I–and I think it’s safe to say–the rest of Red Sox Nation aren’t listening.

We’re the champions this year.  Deal with it.  Take your little white flags home and use them for crying towels.  They may as well be put to good use, because they certainly didn’t help your teams in the playoffs or the World Series.  And to the Fox sports announcers, your love affair with the Rockies is doomed.  I don’t think those guys are going to want to have anything to do with you after the way you jinxed their team with your embarrassing outpouring of accolades and praise for their exceptional drive and memorable playing.  Sorry, momentary relapse into my superstitious side.  From my practical side, your announcing was pitiful and I pray some other network will snatch the World Series coverage out of your inept hands.  I mean, come on, when the announcers at an event as important as the World Series can’t even pronounce the names of the players, that’s just piss-poor reporting.  Learn the names of the players and the teams before you open your mouths.  And by the way, whichever of you it was who was talking the other night about how good it must be to be a fan in Boston right now with the “White Sox” playing in the World Series, the Pats undefeated, etc., etc.  You’re an idiot.  Fox should fire your ass for that alone!

Okay, back to our regularly scheduled program…the Red Sox won the World Series and now have two championships in their pockets this century.  There’s a lot of speculation about whether they can keep this going and win another World Series in the not so distant future.  Well, you know what Red Sox fans have been saying for a long time now; “Wait till next year.”

The thing is…for Red Sox fans, that now has an entirely different connotation.  Instead of “okay, we lost this year, but there’s always next year,” it’s “I can’t wait to see what this team can do next year!”  That’s incredibly sweet!

And the frosting on top of this wonderfully sugared dessert?  Well, the first thing that came out of my Yankee fan husband’s mouth this morning was, “Wait till next year.”

Oh, yeah, couldn’t have said it better myself!

