A couple of weeks ago, I posted about the legend of Tessie and asked all of Red Sox Nation to start singing the song again in an effort to help our boys win.  Well, I don’t have a clue if that’s the reason they won the ALCS and are playing in the World Series, but something definitely happened.

And while that mysterious “something” was happening, I was singing Tessie at the top of my lungs…every chance I got.  To the point I think my husband–a Yankees fan (my secret shame!)–is ready to either duct-tape my mouth shut or consult a lawyer about divorcing me due to irreconcilable differences or maybe even cruel and unusual punishment.

The thing is, I can’t stop singing it now.  No matter what.  Not even if I tried!  I’ve been a Red Sox fan for a long time–longer than I’ve been married–and singing Tessie seems to be working so I’ll continue to sing.  I’m not willing to take any chances when it comes to my boys and winning.  Besides, I like that song, and I love to sing–though I’m the original “can’t carry a tune in a bucket” gal.

So, I sing it during the games–actually, this may be a form of self-defense against those awful Fox sports announcers.  Just a little aside here, can you people please drop the verbal love affair with Troy Tulowitzki?  It’s sickening and I really don’t want to hear it any more!

Okay, back to what I was saying, I’ve got Tessie in my CD player in my car, in my CD player at home, and “Fever Pitch” in my DVD player.  I sing Tessie in the shower, I even wake up at night with it going through my head.  And it seems to be working!

<crossing fingers and knocking on wood to negate the jinx>

Not to take anything away from my boys, they’ve been playing their hearts out and I freely admit I may have misjudged the level of their drive and determination.  In my defense, I never put down their abilities–well, okay, I jumped on Gagne a time or two, but not without reason–just their heart, their desire to win, their cohesiveness as a team.  And they proved me wrong!  Thank goodness!

So, to all of you who are members of Red Sox Nation, keep singing and keep believing!

