Just a few kudos to StarDust Press and a heads-up to other epublishers out there who may be struggling, and also to those who’ve already gone under (especially those who are rumored to be starting up under a different name!)  This is the official public letter from StarDust:

Dear authors and editors,

After much discussion and negotiation and evaluation, it is with regret that we announce StarDust Press is closing effective September 30, 2007. We are saddened that despite all our efforts, SDP is bleeding, and the investors have decided to cut their losses.

We know that you would all be concerned with this development, so we address all your concerns one by one below.

1. Authors and editors would be paid the royalties/editorial fees due them.

2. All books would be taken off the website and Fictionwise by September 30, 2007.

3. From September 30, 2007 onwards, all rights to the published books revert back to the author, and as such, you can submit them to other publication houses for publication.

4. For unpublished books, you may send to other publication houses as early as now.

5. For authors whose books are currently under edits, we would send you a personal email on the matter.

SDP was established to do legitimate business, however the environment wasn’t conducive to its survival.  And so, we have no choice but to take this step.

Thank you for all your support and we wish for the best for you in all your endeavors.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reply to this email.  Your question my also be the question of the others.

Thanks,

Raine

For StarDust Management

…and there you have it, the professional and classy way to go out of business.  No harm, no foul–well, if you don’t count the seven months I spent waiting for news on my manuscript.  Eek!  Sorry!  Chalk that one up to my pissy mood today.  Truthfully, I’m grateful to StarDust for getting me started and for doing the right thing by bowing out before they were forced to.

The thing is, I should be dancing for joy.  So, why aren’t I?  I admit to a sort of half-hearted jig, but the things that are bogging me down are searching for another publisher and writing yet another query letter–Aha!  There you have it!  I despise writing query letters and tend to put it off until I can’t put it off any longer.  Witness all the completed WIPs on my computer that are just sitting there gathering cyber-dust.

Jeez, whoever said you have to take the good with the bad, sure knew what they were talking about!

